Practical considerations

Planning a loft conversion? Create more space and add value to your home with our top tips

Useful contacts

Architects and designers
Architect Your Home, www.architect-yourhome.com.
Buildburo, www.buildburo.co.uk.
Charles Barclay Architects, www.charlesbarclayarchitects.co.uk.
Gregory Phillips Architects, www.gregoryphillips.com.
LCE Architects, www.lcearch.com.
The Pike Practice, www.thepikepractice.com.
Stuart Forbes Associates, www.stuartforbes.com.

Specialist loft companies
Above It All Loft Conversions (Northwest), www.above-it-all.co.uk.
Absolute Lofts (within the M25), www.absolutelofts.com.
Altitude Lofts (London area), www.altitudelofts.co.uk.
Charles Grosvenor Loft Conversion Specialists (Birmingham, Worcester, Southeast), www.charlesgrosvenor.co.uk.

Find a professional
Corgi (Council for Registered Gas Installers), www.trustcorgi.com.
Federation of Master Builders, www.findabuilder.co.uk.
Royal Institute of British Architects, www.riba.org.

Further advice
www.loft-conversion-uk.com Excellent independent site with plenty of information and advice.
www.planningportal.gov.uk Government site on planning and building regulations.
Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, www.rics.org.

Useful suppliers
Envirograf, www.envirograf.com. Upgrades doors; fire-resistant products.
Loft Shop, www.loftshop.co.uk. Windows, roofing, heating, loft ladders, spiral stairs and insulation.
Saniflo, www.saniflo.co.uk. Independent plumbing services.
Velux, www.velux.co.uk. Skylights, roof windows and blinds.

Need some DIY help? Hire a tradesman today with our handy tool!

Previous page

All the latest from Ideal Home